Rybak wins 3rd term as Minneapolis mayor

7:17 AM, Nov 4, 2009   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Complete election results

MINNEAPOLIS -- Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak locked up a third term as the leader of Minnesota's largest city, even as he lays the groundwork for a possible gubernatorial run next year.

Rybak rolled up more than 72 percent of the vote with almost three-fourths of precincts reporting, far ahead of anyone else in a field of 11 candidates.

His victory came as Minneapolis joined a handful of other cities in using instant-runoff voting for its municipal elections. City officials said the system, which lets voters rank up to three candidates in each race in order of preference, went smoothly.

Rybak, a Democrat, was open during his brief mayoral campaign about the possibility of launching a gubernatorial bid soon after this race.

In St. Paul, Mayor Chris Coleman won re-election and St. Paul voters approved using instant-runoff voting in future St. Paul municipal races. 

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Most Watched Videos