May health observances

10:57 AM, Apr 30, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

MINNEAPOLIS --- As part of its Know Your Numbers campaign, Health Fair 11 presents this listing of health events taking place in May:

Month-long Observances

Arthritis Awareness Month - Arthritis Foundation / www.arthritis.org / ph. 404-965-7528

Better Hearing and Speech Month - American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery / www.entnet.org / ph. 703-535-3762

Better Sleep Month - Better Sleep Council / www.bettersleep.org / ph. 703-683-8371

Bike Month - League of American Bicyclists / www.bikeleague.org / ph. 202-822-1333

Healthy Vision Month - American Academy of Ophthalmology / www.geteyesmart.org / ph. 415-447-0258

Hepatitis Awareness Month - Hepatitis Foundation / www.hepatitisfoundation.org / ph. 800-891-0707

High Blood Pressure Education Month - National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute / www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/heart/index.htm#hbp / ph. 301-592-8573

Huntington's Disease Awareness Month - Huntington's Disease Society of America / www.hdsa.org / ph. 212-242-1968 ext. 229

Lupus Awareness Month - Lupus Foundation of America, Inc. / www.lupus.org ph. 202-349-1155

Melanoma/Skin Cancer Detection and Prevention Month - American Academy of Dermatology / www.aad.org

Mental Health Month - Mental Health America / www.mentalhealthamerica.net / ph. 703-797-2588

Motorcycle Safety and Awareness Month - National Highway Traffic Safety Administration / www.nhtsa.gov ph 202-366-0521

Neurofibromatosis Awareness Month - Children's Tumor Foundation / www.ctf.org / ph. 212-344-6633 ext.223

Older Americans Month - US Administration on Aging / www.aoa.gov / ph. 202-619-0724

Osteoporosis Awareness and Prevention Month - National Osteoporosis Foundation / www.nof.org / ph. 800-231-4222

Physical Fitness and Sports Month - President's Council of Fitness, Sports and Nutrition / www.presidentschallenge.org ph. 240-276-9567

Stroke Awareness Month - National Stroke Association and American Stroke Association / www.stroke.org or www.strokeassociation.org / ph. 303-754-0919 or 888-4-STROKE

Week-long and Special Day Observances

May 6-12

Anxiety and Depression Awareness week - Freedom From Fear / www.freedomfromfear.org / ph. 718-351-1717

Children's Mental Health Week - National Federation of Families for Children's Mental Health / www.ffcmh.org / ph. 240-403-1901

Hug Holiday Week - Hugs for Health Foundation / www.hugs4health.org / ph. 714-832-HUGS

Nurses Week - American Nurses Association / www.nursingworld.org ph. 800-274-4262

Run a Mile Days - American Running Association / www.americanrunning.org / ph. 301-913-9517

May 7

Melanoma Monday - American Academy of Dermatology / www.aad.org or www.melanomamonday.org

May 9

School Nurse Day - National Association of School Nurses / www.nasn.org ph 240-821-1130

May 12

Fibromyalgia Awareness Day - National Fibromyalgia and Chronic Pain Association / www.fmcpaware.org

Nurses Week - American Nurses Association / www.nursingworld.org / ph. 800-274-4262

May 13-19

Food Allergy Awareness Week - Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network / www.foodallergy.org / ph. 800-929-4040 ext. 111

Women's Health Week - US Department of Health and Human Services' Office on Women's Health / www.womenshealth.gov/whw

May 14-20

Stuttering Awareness Week - Stuttering Foundation / www.stutteringhelp.org ph. 800-992-9392

May 20-26

Emergency Medical Services Week - American College of Emergency Physicians / www.acep.org/emswek ph 972-550-0911 ext. 3261

May 30

Senior Health and Fitness Day - Mature market Resource Center / www.fitnessday.com ph 800-829-8225

Most Watched Videos