New fire restrictions take effect in NW, central Minn.

5:23 PM, Sep 19, 2012   |    comments
File photo
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ST. PAUL, Minn. - The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is instituting new burning restrictions across areas of northwestern and north central Minnesota due to continued drought conditions.  

The counties having limitations placed on campfires and open burning include:

Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Cass (north of Highway 200), Clearwater, Douglas, Hubbard, Kanabec, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, Stearns, Todd, and Wadena.

The burning take effect at 1 a.m. on Sunday, Sept. 23.

Campfires or recreational fires outside municipalities are allowed only in a designated receptacles associated with a residence, staffed campgrounds such as state parks, or resorts.

No burning permits will be issued to the general public, and no use of fireworks will be allowed outside of municipalities.

The DNR says severe drought has elevated wildfire conditions to the point that fires start easily from sparks or windblown embers and spread rapidly.

The DNR and other wildfire agencies in the state have brought in additional resources and placed them on a Level 5 alert, the state's highest planning level. The Minnesota Incident Command System agencies are concerned that prolonged lack of rainfall has allowed even the large woody debris and standing conifer trees to ignite easily as well as areas with peat soils. Both lead to difficult demands on firefighting resources to protect life and property.

Fire conditions change quickly. For more information and maps, and to check fire conditions, visit the DNR website.


(Copyright 2012 by KARE. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Most Watched Videos