Lynx land 3 on All-WNBA Team

12:42 PM, Oct 17, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

NEW YORK - Three members of the Minnesota Lynx are among ten players named to the 2012 All-WNBA First and Second Teams.

Lynx guard Seimone Augustus was voted to the All-WNBA First Team, along with 2012 WNBA Most Valuable Player Tina Charles of the Connecticut Sun,  forwards Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks and Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever, and guard Cappie Pondexter of the New York Liberty.

This marks the first time on the First Team for Augustus, who has been named to the Second-Team on three occasions (2006, 2007, and 2011).

Minnesota forward Maya Moore and point guard Lindsay Whalen are joined on the All-WNBA Second Team by Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles, Los Angeles Sparks guard Kristi Toliver and San Antonio Silver Stars forward Sophia Young.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of 41 national and local sportswriters and broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season.

Those being named to the All-WNBA First and Second-Teams receive a Tiffany & Co. designed trophy. In addition, $10,000 will be awarded to each member of the First-Team, while each member of the Second-Team will receive $5,000.


(Copyright 2012 by KARE. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. )

Most Watched Videos